Community or Me, Myself and I?

Before leaving school yesterday, I had an interesting exchange with the Italian as an additional language teacher. Grade 3 and 4 were considering things they have the right to, and what they are not allowed to. Their comments were all like “I am…”, “I can…”, all related to the self.

She found it curious that the students had not expressed a sense of community, but were only concerned with themselves.
On reflection, I think it is something we are working on all the time, community building. My initial reaction was to focus on this more during the unit, but now I believe that this development will be natural.

Next week though, I want to include some team/community building activities, suitable for 7 year-olds and possible have the Grade 4s join as well.

Please share your ideas!

Leave a comment

Filed under Grade 3, PSPE, PYP, Who we are

Leave a Reply

